One Large Step for America

Since early America, homosexuality has been viewed as a sin; it has been looked down on by a large portion of heterosexual human beings. Those people decided that being ‘gay’ was chosen, and that it could be changed. If you didn’t want to change, then you were wrong, and could be sent to treatment, to become heterosexual.

Can you believe that? They can’t treat cancer, but they can treat sexuality? I think is one of the most insecure, discriminatory ideals a person can have. What is so scary about a person being in love with another person of the same gender. You are not going to catch a disease, you are not going to die, and you are not going to end up becoming like them; it is similar to a man loving a woman, except for the obvious. 

So when I read this story, I gained a bit of hope for our society. It dawned on me that maybe, just maybe our country is starting to become more accepting of EVERYONE, not only because we feel like we have to, but because we want to. It is my hope that one day everyone can be accepted in this country, no matter what their gender, sexual orientation, or what their nationality may be. Any state that still allows for these ‘treatment’ centers, needs to take some notes from California’s playbook and allow people to marry someone because they love them, not live their lives alone or in secret, because they are forced to. 

4 Comments

October 2, 2012 · 3:40 am

4 responses to “One Large Step for America

  1. jessicagoodrich14

    I completely agree! I see no reason why gay marriage is even a controversy – why is it anyone else’s business who wants to marry who? There is absolutely no reason that it shouldn’t be legal in each of the fifty states. The last time I checked, someone else’s choices about their sexuality didn’t affect anyone. My dad always said, “I don’t care if someone is black, white, gay, straight, or believes something different than me. If they respect me, I will respect them.” He still always says this, and it is something that I think everyone forgets with this issue. What gives people the right to tell other people how to live their lives? Marrying the person you want to marry is your right, just as having faith in what you want is your right. And more importantly, even if it is considered a sin in some religions, church and state are supposed to be separate, which is why the fact that this isn’t legal is even more infuriating. What bearing does gay marriage have on the government? If people are comfortable with their choices, others should respect their choices as well. No one is committing murder here, and no one causing harm to others. I also hope that one day this topic won’t even be called “gay marriage,” because all marriage is just marriage, and that’s all there is to it.

  2. Couldn’t agree with you more, broheim (can I call you broheim? I’m going to anyways…). Two of my dad’s brothers are gay, one flamboyantly and the other one you would never know unless he told you. So I grew up realizing that sexual preference means a whole lot of jack and a little bit of shit. It irritates me to no end that people oppose same-sex marriage. I don’t want to get too deep into it here though, because I’ll probably get pissy and end up saying something that will piss off other people in the class who don’t share opinion, so I’ll just say to those people that I respect your right to disagree with same-sex marriage….but I do it with a sad face. :(…see how sad that is? You caused it!

Leave a Reply

